Our Christmas and a recipe for “krumkaker”

 

Carolines art work!.jpg
Unfortunately it has been ages since I’ve been able to post. As for most of us, pre
-Christmas life has been very busy, but now we are settled in at our mountain cottage – ready to celebrate Christmas and New Year’s Eve. Breads and cakes have been baked, shopping has been done, presents are P1020300.jpgwrapped, the tree is installed in the sitting room with lights on – waiting to be decorated this evening, whilst enjoying a mug of Christmas “gløgg”. The cured ham is slow cooking at 85ºC and the smells are beginning to waft through the cottage.

Christmas at this cottage is lovely. I really want to show you what it is like, so here are some pictures from last year

 

Christmas Eve morning we always serve a Christmas wreath with raisins and nuts. I set the dough the night before, roll it out in the morning and serve it freshly baked with hot chocolate.

SONY DSC

The birds sit outside the window, feeding and watching us.
SONY DSC

A month or so before Christmas I bake my version of  English Christmas cake, with all kinds nuts and dried fruits. The cakes are marinated with brandy and make lovely presents.

 

Red tulips and small branches from the fir trees outside add to the Christmas spirit.

 

SONY DSC

 

Hopefully the snow that came down last weekend will remain. At the moment the weather has turned milder, so it really is touch and go.

 

Traditionally in our house we always serve “krumkaker” with cloudberries and whipped cream for dessert. These are very thin cakes rolled into cones made from a thin batter which is baked in a special appliance. You also need a cone shaped wooden form to roll the cake around. I doubt many of my foreign readers will indulge in one of these, but it may interest you any how to see what the appliance looks like. The challenge is to get the cakes thin enough, but with my very own adapted recipe I usually am successful. The cakes should be golden brown and slightly lacy at the edges.

I have included my recipe below and with these pictures and the recipe
I wish you all a lovely and peaceful Christmas and everything you hope for in 2012!

Krumkaker

SONY DSC

 

  • 125 g melted butter
  • 125 g sugar
  • 125 g strong flour
  • 125 g Maisena flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 200 ml cold water
  • 50 ml brandy (Or any other alcohol you may have at hand. This year I had forgotten the brandy at home, so I used Pims instead. It didn’t seem to make a difference.)

Whip sugar and eggs until the mixture is foamy and light. Add the flours and blend well. Add in water and brandy. Let the mixture stand for at least 1 hour. Pour one table spoon or so into the hot krumkake appliance for about a minute, depending on the heat setting. The cakes should be light brown. Quickly roll them up into a cone with the cone shaper. Place on a rack to cool.

These are lovely served with cloudberries, other berries or ice cream. Merry Christmas!

 

6 thoughts on “Our Christmas and a recipe for “krumkaker”

    • Happy New Year to you too and thanks for your praise. Comments are truly valued – so keep them coming! Your blog is thought provoking, beautiful and inspiring. Thank you for all the work you put into it.

  1. What a lovely blog – beautifully written and lovely photographs. Found you as I was browsing through the Nature posts on this chilly New Year’s morning – or, as you put it so nicely – this “shivery” morning!

    • Hi there – thanks to you too for your kind words. I never thought I would be writing a blog, but I find I’m really enjoying it. The challenge will be to keep it up and to maintain a standard I am happy with. I thoroughly enjoyed your Christmas Eve post!

Leave a Reply

