Morning has broken …

This is the sunrise I woke up to this morning. Mornings are getting later and later and this scene did not show up until about 9 am. I am at our cottage, trying to catch up on Christmas preparations, as well as work that should have been done ages ago.

It’s freezing outside. Not so much due to the degrees, about -1ºC, but the wind chill factor really hits hard, as the wind coming down from the north is fast and furious. It seems to be wanting to take revenge on the mild weather we have had throughout October and November. The mildest weather during these months in fact for many, many years.

A few minutes later the sun shone through the trees:

I can see all this from my bed and it wasn’t hard to potter out to the kitchen, make a cappuccino and pick up two of Heidi’s Millet Muffins which I made yesterday. However, as  spelt grains agree with me more than normal wheat, and I dislike measuring sticky things in cups I have tweaked the recipe slightly. Also I am the lucky owner of a Thermomix, so if you own one you can follow the directions below. If not, you can find the directions in Heidi’s downloadable PDF brochure.

No - I didn't make them in this pan. They just fit well!

Millet Muffins with spelt flour
(makes 12 fairly large muffins or 16 smaller ones. Perhaps the muffin cups I normally get here in Norway are smaller than the ones you get in the US.)

  • 280 g fine ground whole meal spelt flour
  • 60 g raw millet
  • 1 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 0.5 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 225 g plain yoghurt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten (I used 3 smallish ones)
  • 110 g barely melted unsalted butter
  • 170 g honey
  • Grated zest and 2 tbs juice from 1 lemon

Directions for making this in a Thermomix:
Preheat the oven to 205ºC. Melt the butter in the TM 40 sec/100ºC/speed 4. Place yoghurt, eggs, honey, lemon zest, baking powder and baking soda in TM and mix briefly at speed 4-5. Put millet, flour and lemon juice in the TM and mix at speed 5 or 6 until you see that the batter is blended. Normally about 20-30 secs. Do not over mix.  Pour batter into the muffin cups to just below the rim. Bake in top third of the oven for about 15 minutes until the tops are browned and beginning to crack. Cool them for about 5 minutes before turning them out on a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy them warm as they are or with a pat of butter and some jam.

If you have never tried any of Heidi’s recipes, do explore her website and look out for her books, especially if you are a vegetarian. But even those who aren’t, find her food different, exciting and delicious.

Guess who had a nice half hour in bed with the muffins and the cappuccino, comfy under her duvet, busily planning her day and making lists? Enjoy your day, make the muffins and you too can have them for breakfast tomorrow. Can you possibly have a better start for a lovely day?

PS: See what nature made during the night. Isn’t it beautiful?

6 thoughts on “Morning has broken …

  1. I almost came to visit Norway this year…but I had to cancel the trip because my mother was diagnozed with cancer. But…I will make it there!

    I love your photos…especially the first one!

    Sherry

    • I am sorry about your mother Sherry. I know exactly how you feel. I lost my father very suddenly when he was in Washington DC in May. The time since then has been very emotional in many ways although dad died “with his boots on” at the age of 92. I guess it was the “sudden” that threw me.

      I’m working on getting the food photos better – I hate using flash and the lighting indoors is not good enough. I’ve asked Santa for a tripod – I think he may grant my wish 😉

      Take care!

  2. LOVE it! Thanks for this English post Kat! I’m in the midst of Christmas preparations myself (as are hordes of like minded souls around the world) but need some down time so as to survive the season. I’m watching excerpts of Puccini’s Turandot on youtube in between writing, decorating, and cleaning hahaha.
    I’m not much of a baker but will pick up some whole wheat muffins from the baker for this weekend. Happy week ahead. Myrna.

    • Hi again Helene – you know me from before. I am the one who writes “matsomsmaker.no” as well. We’ve been in touch before 😉 However, I have been getting grouches from people who don’t read Norwegian, so I thought I should include some of the recipes I use on this blog as well. But – I simply don’t have the time to translate them all!

      I’m glad you enjoy my pictures. I am trying hard to get better and better at taking them. Especially the food ones are a challenge, especially as I don’t like using a flash. But one day I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

